Eating Greener

the experiences of a newbie to local, organic, and sustainably grown food

end of week 1 April 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristimartin @ 7:50 pm

We used up all the lettuce and spinach for salads over the weekend.  I also put strawberries and blue cheese in it – very tasty!  I didn’t know what to do with the violets.  I looked online and most of the recipes were for sweet confections, syrups, etc.  So I put them in the salad.

Saturday night we had the salad with the sweet potatoes and a slice of the bread.  I was surprised that it actually filled me up – usually we have meat with dinner.  The sweet potatoes were somewhat small.  I just wrapped them in plastic wrap and put them in the microwave.  We are getting to the end of the produce.  We still have oregano, cilantro, and popping corn left, plus the cheeses.  I got some avocados and limes to make guacamole with the cilantro.   I also got some paper bags to make the popcorn in the microwave.  I need to look up a recipe for caramel corn – I think that would be better than regular popcorn.

Our next delivery will be on Wednesday, and hopefully I will also get my new member pack.  I’m excited to see what’s in it!  I’m also excited that several of my friends are getting in on the local produce act.  I think it is important for my kids to understand where the food they eat comes from.   Below are some pictures of the salads and sweet potatoes.  Hopefully we will get something new and exciting this week.

 

Leave a Reply

