Eating Greener

the experiences of a newbie to local, organic, and sustainably grown food

cilantro April 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristimartin @ 8:31 pm

So I have used up most of last week’s produce delivery, with the exception of the cilantro and oregano.  I love cilantro, so I didn’t want to waste it.  I chopped up about half of it to make fresh guacamole (something both my husband and son will eat).  I mashed up 2 avocados with the cilantro, some chopped onion, a little salsa, and the juice of one lime.  I decided to use the guacamole to make a 7-layer dip.  These were my layers: hot refried beans, shredded cheese, guacamole, onions, more cheese, salsa, a few more onions, sour cream, and more fresh cilantro.  (I guess that’s really 9 layers.)  I served it with tortilla chips.  It was REALLY good.  We actually ran out of chips, and Elliott and I finished ours with a spoon.  Bobby busted out the Doritos to finish his.  I thought that was kind of gross, but to each his own!  I think the only thing that would have made it better would have been some black olives, but I didn’t have any on hand.  Not bad for a quick, out-of-the-pantry meal.  And once again vegetarian, but still filling.  My goal is not for us to become vegetarians, but I’m pretty sure it couldn’t hurt for us to eat less meat, particularly red meat.  I am actually thinking about adding a meat pack to next month’s Farmer’s Fresh order.  I think it would be really great for my family to get meat that is free of hormones, antibiotics, and pesticides.

By the time I remembered to take a picture of the dip, this is what it looked like:

Oh well, maybe next time!

 

Leave a Reply

