Eating Greener

the experiences of a newbie to local, organic, and sustainably grown food

2nd April Farmer’s Fresh delivery April 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristimartin @ 9:45 pm

Today was my second delivery from the CSA.  Here’s what I got:

Honey Flax Bread

Strawberries

Bordeaux Spinach

Greek Oregano

Chives

Spearmint

Lettuce

Oyster Mushrooms

Cucumber

I also got my new member pack!  Here’s what was in it:

Fresh From the Field – a cookbook with recipes from the farmers and CSA members

Honey

Herbal Tea

Nut Mix

Rice

Cornmeal

Grits

Pancake Mix

Coffee

Mini Breakfast Loaf

I am REALLY excited about the cookbook.  Currently I have to look up practically everything online to find out what type of veggie it is and how to cook it.  Today I spent a considerable time figuring out that my spinach was bordeaux spinach.  Thankfully, the weekly menu on the CSA website specified that the mushrooms were oyster mushrooms.  But I still had to look up how to cook them.

It didn’t take me as long to get everything washed and prepped today.  I even had energy left over to make dinner.

We will have some salads this week with the lettuce and cucumbers.  I also have some organic carrots from the grocery store, and I will use some of the herbs and the blue cheese on the salad as well.

Elliott and I had toasted bread with the cheddar cheese today for lunch.  It was good!

For dinner I pan fried some chicken.  Then I sauteed some onions, garlic, spinach, oregano, and oyster mushrooms.  I topped the chicken with the veggie mixture and served some sugar snap peas on the side.  It was pretty good.  I am starting to get the hang of cooking “on the fly.”  Normally I need a recipe and I have to cook it a few times to get good at it, but it seems to be a lot easier with fresh herbs and vegetables.  The flavors are much better, and it’s easier to smell what will work together well.  Here’s a picture of tonight’s chicken:

Now I’m off to read my new cookbook!

 

Leave a Reply

