Eating Greener

the experiences of a newbie to local, organic, and sustainably grown food

caramel popcorn! April 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristimartin @ 10:11 pm

We’re still eating lots of salads.  The cucumber we got was huge, so I’ve been slicing up bits of it at a time and chopping up some organic carrots to put in the salad, along with chives and the blue cheese.  The boys are still enjoying it, and that’s all I can ask for!

Monday night I popped popcorn from the popping corn I got with my first delivery.  I just put the husk in a paper bag and put it in the microwave.  It didn’t start popping slowly like a grocery store bag of popcorn.  After about a minute in the microwave, it made a HUGE pop!  I think about half the cob exploded all at once.  Then the rest of it started popping.  Elliott had fun listening to it.  It turned out really good – very white and fluffy.

we started with this

we ended up with this!

the corn cob afterwards

But then I decided to kick it up a notch.  I found a recipe for caramel popcorn online.  It was really easy: butter, brown sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, and salt.  Once the caramel was done, I poured it on the popcorn (what Elliott hadn’t eaten yet) and baked it for about 45 minutes.  Much better than plain popcorn.  It only lasted for a few days.

Mmmmmm!

 

Leave a Reply

